Most of you measure Average Order Value ... AOV as it is often known. Your e-commerce business utterly depends upon the measurement of this metric.
How many of you track "Average Margin Value", or "AMV"?
Instead of summing up the amount the customer spent (three items ... $30, $30, $40 = $100), you sum up the amount of gross margin generated by the customer in that order ($18, $12, $22 = $52).
Too often, we provide 40% off with a hurdle, then celebrate a big order of $120. Let's pretend that your gross margin is 50%.
- No offer = $100 AOV.
- Yes offer = $120 AOV.
- No offer = $100 - $50 = $50.
- Yes offer = ($120 - $60) - ($120*0.4) = $60 - $48 = $12.
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